My astrology chart recently informed me that I’m entering the “Reinvent Yourself phase”.  Quoting from the writings of Gail Sher (One Continuous Mistake:  Four Noble Truths for Writers), the weekly astrology guide continued with these words of wisdom:  “The drive for perfection can be a distraction…. Don’t think yourself into a corner, agonizing about where to begin.  Simply dive in and get to work, trusting that the agitation you churn up will show you what works.”

I’m heeding Gail Sher’s advice and am inspired as well by a friend’s recent decision to start blogging.  Today, I’m jumping into the water, putting words down on paper (or on this blog site); I’m not worrying about grammatical errors, or spelling mistakes, and I’m not going to fret about whether or not what I have to say will be of interest to the universe at large.  

I’ve been journaling for many years but that’s a very different medium.  No-one other than myself (hopefully!) will read my journals, criticize me, or laugh at the ideas and thoughts that run through my head.  I’ve been writing in this safe and very nurturing environment – I love it!  I will continue to journal but I also feel a need to step out and take a risk with my writing.  Another quote I came across recently is by B.J. Gallagher:  “Successful people will tell you that if you never experience failure, you are not taking enough risks.”  I’ve decided, in this Reinventing Myself Phase, that I’m willing to chance that possibility of failure but maybe, just maybe, by taking the first step I will learn to be a good writer.

“Leap, and the net will appear.” – Julia Cameron

